Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Sunday, 27 September 2015

Doctor Who - Review (Sort of) Episode Two

Episode Two - The Witch's Familiar
SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS 

Clara isn't dead! Missy isn't dead! 

Davros isn't dead... 

Last night was the second episode in the newest series of Doctor Who and we got to see what exactly happened with the Doctor and 'young Davros'. Like last week I will just simply be talking about what I liked about the episode and also discuss anything that I may have not enjoyed - maybe with a few questions thrown in to! 

So first of all, Missy. I don't know exactly what it is, but I love her character! She is funny, witty and slightly crazy. However last night saw a little bit more of a sinister edge to her, particularly the moment where she told the Doctor that Clara was dead. I still feel we don't know enough about her and I feel that she's going to be more of a enemy that an ally, with that particular moment being a good example of my reasoning's. (Anyone?) Or she could just be very jealous of Clara and wants to be the Doctor's companion and so would say or do anything to get rid of her.

This leads me to another element of the show that I liked - the sinister/chilling moments. This stood out the most for me when Clara was trying to control the Dalek and the only words that were coming out were 'Ex-ter-min-ate!' when she was trying to say a variety of things. It just emphasised just how emotionless the Daleks are.

Overall the episode was really good and I really enjoyed it but those two things (albeit little things) were noticeable things that I liked this week.  Now onto things that I'm not too keen or not too sure on...

Sonic sunglasses?????? This can't be the end of the sonic screwdriver can it? I mean I understand that the Doctor perhaps needs to get a little bit more with current technology but the sonic screwdriver is just something that people immediately associate with the Doctor (naturally). And yes, Peter Capaldi looks pretty cool in some shades but I don't really know if I like this idea that the Doctor MAY (we don't know for sure) have sonic sunglasses. He can wear them for sure! It could be like what the bow-tie was for Matt Smith or the scarf was for Tom Baker - but please, don't get rid of the sonic screwdriver. Just update it! Maybe this time with the ability to deal with wood... But anyway that's all for dislikes!

Finally, AGAIN this week I was reminded of Oswin Oswald - especially when Clara was inside the Dalek. I don't know how it could work but I have a feeling somehow that the two stories could connect? I'm not sure but if anyone had a similar thought let me know! Maybe Clara will have a similar demise or .. ah I don't know! Regardless, the episode was awesome and I can't wait for next week!

Thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings, I really appreciate it! Sorry if there were any spelling errors of confusing parts - just let me know if you find any.

Have a lovely day or evening!

Ricicle x

Saturday, 19 September 2015

Doctor Who - Review (Sort of) Episode One

Episode one - The Magician's Apprentice  (Contains spoilers!)


Hey 'dudes'! As you are of no doubt aware - Doctor Who is back! And for the first episode of the new series we are greeted to our old enemies - the Daleks (dun dun dun). And more specifically Davros - who wants to meet with the Doctor one final time.

I wont do a summary of the episode - partly out of fear for spoiling it for anyone who may not have watched it and because if you have seen it you know what happened! This review will mainly be just me talking about what I enjoyed about the episode, what excited me and anything (if there is anything) that I didn't enjoy about the episode.

So firstly one thing that I enjoyed in this episode was THE DOCTOR ON THE GUITAR. The Doctor seriously rocked out in this episode and what could make this better? It was actually Peter Capaldi playing it. How cool is that? The Doctor is a rocker at heart! Yes, yes I know that the return of Daleks and the planet Skaro is pretty damn exciting (and scary too) but perhaps it was because we haven't seen this side of the Doctor - it was just so cool to see. And bravo to Peter Capaldi you cool dude. Who knew that the Doctor introduced the word dude centuries earlier too? #themoreyouknow

Another thing that I enjoyed was the 'good bad' jokes the Doctor tried to pull off just after rocking out. I'm a sucker for 'good bad' jokes and that tank one was just great although he just didn't get a very good reception. That's probably one thing me and the Doctor have in common - our awesome jokes just don't get the laughter they truly deserve.

Regarding jokes, Missy provided quite a few laughs for me in this episode which I found really surprising. So far, I like her character - I find her interesting, eccentric and of course slightly mad. I also loved this idea that she wanted to be the Doctor's best friend yet also his arch enemy at the same time. However, I'm still questioning who she really is, I know last series she said she was 'The Master' but I don't know - I'm still not sure. Regardless, I like her, she's entertaining.

Was there anything I didn't like about this episode? Not really no. If anything the ending was something that confused me - especially if the Doctor really does go ahead and kill young Davros. I know that Davros created the Daleks and by killing him they wouldn't have been created (and Clara and Missy wouldn't have been killed) but if the Doctor does go ahead I'm just going to be needing a lot more questions answering. It also doesn't seem like something the Doctor would do (killing a child not saving his friends). But anyway, this is all for next week's episode which I can't wait for!

Just some questions - If the Doctor kills Davros this would mean the Daleks wouldn't have existed. So could Rose come back? Could this be a thing? Could the Doctor be able to see Rose again? (I don't know)
- Also throughout this episode I couldn't shake the memory of Oswin Oswald, maybe this is nothing but I just thought Daleks were there and now they are back. Maybe I'm trying to connect something that just isn't meant to be connected. But hey its fun to speculate!

I am so happy that Doctor Who is back and I hope any of you reading this enjoyed this post. As usual I am sorry if there are any mistakes or spelling errors and if you'd like to share your opinions on the episode feel free too! I really appreciate anyone who reads my blog - I don't really know what it surrounds yet but I'm having so much fun with it.

Have a lovely day or night dudes!

Ricicle x (You can follow me on Bloglovin' or tumblr - links are on the right side of the page! ^_^)

Monday, 24 August 2015

The Bad Education Movie - Review (Sort of)

Basically this is just me wanting to talk about this film because I saw it today and liked it.


Now, I'm no film critic so don't expect anything in depth or good. I just wanted to tell you guys about this film because I saw it today - rather spontaneously - and really enjoyed it! However first and foremost I just want to mention that I don't intend to put any spoilers of the story line in here so I'm just saying this now as a warning in-case I do accidentally let something slip. Know that I didn't mean to and lets still be friends. Please? Yes? Okay? Awesome!

From the first series in 2012, I have always been a fan of Jack Whitehall's Bad Education. Having watched and been a fan of each series it was then pretty exciting to know that it was being made into a film, as it was quite sad knowing the series had come to an end last year. However, I must admit I was a little worried, as I didn't want the series, which ended on such a high, to then be remembered as something that wasn't that good because of the film spin off. Or film addition? Well - film either way right?

My worries were (as usual) for nothing! The film was - personally - hilarious! Full of randomness and fun I honestly could not stop laughing throughout. It had quite a intriguing - if a bit odd story line though - although as promised I wont delve into that because I don't want to risk spoiling it for you. Just know that its not too 'silly' like I'd imagined it might have been. Well okay, certain parts were a little far fetched but it was in a good way I guess. No joke seemed too stretched out and nothing was repeated in a effort to gain another laugh. Every funny part that happened in the film stirred a genuine laugh... from me anyway. (Does that almost sound review like? Check me out)

Image 1 - Looking pretty serious
To give you an idea of what the film is like I would say imagine The Inbetweeners films. Like Bad Education it started as a very successful TV series and then into two films. The tone and humour of Bad Education is also very similar to that of The Inbetweeners. So basically - if you're a fan of Will, Simon, Neil and Jay chances are you'll be a fan of Alfie Wickers and his class.

I must say however the film would probably be more enjoyable for fans of the series rather than watching it as a stand alone film. I think this simply because by watching it as a stand alone film certain elements may feel unexplained or confusing. (Don't let that deter you though if you haven't seen the series before!)

And that's pretty much it for today. Sorry again for any spelling mistakes or confusing parts. I know I'm not the best writer/blogger in the world but I really am enjoying this and I really do appreciate and thank you guys for reading! I hope you enjoyed my 'sort of' review and if you have seen the film too let me know your thoughts!

The image I found here by the way.

Ricicle x

P.S. The film also stars Iain Glen A.K.A. Ser Jorah from Game of Thrones!